Scott Rolen was elected to the Baseball Hall ofame

NEW YORK (AP) — Baseball’s third baseman, Scott Rolen, was elected to the Baseball Hall ofame on Tuesday with five votes to spare him the required 75%.

The seven-time All-Star and eight-time Gold Glove winner appeared on 297 ballots out of 389 by the Baseball Writers Association of America for a 76.3% vote. A player needs 292 votes to be elected.

He became the 18th-third man to be elected to the hall, the lowest from any office. Rolen will joinred McGriff, who was elected last month by the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee, as the Cooperstown Volunteers on July 23.

Rollin’s five-vote margin tied for twelfth—the smallest among players elected by the writers and his 76.3% of the vote was the tenth lowest. Rolen is up from 63.2% last year and 10.2% on his first appearance on the poll in 2018.

First baseman Todd Hilton finished second with 281 votes (72.2%) and reliever Billy Wagner was third with 265 (68.1%). Helton is up from 52% and could appear five more times on the ballot, while Wagner is up from 51% and has two more chances.

Several others also saw significant increases: Andrew Jones moved from 41.1% to 58.1%, Gary Sheffield from 40.6% to 55%, and Geoff Kent from 32.7% to 46.5%.

This was Kent’s final year on the book ballot. Sheffield gets another try.

Players tainted by drug suspensions are again late. Alex Rodriguez scored 35.7%, up from 34.3%, and Manny Ramirez, 33.2%, up from 28.9%.

Of the 14 players who appeared on the ballot for the first time, Carlos Beltran received 181 votes (46.5%). Beltran’s voting total was likely affected by his role in the Houston Astros’ cheating scandal en route to a 2017 World Series title.

Next year’s first-time qualifiers include Adrián Beltré, Joe Mauer, David Wright, José Bautista and Matt Holliday.


More from AP MLB: and