Barbra Streisand Reveals Recordings of Live at Bon Soir Nightclub That Was Supposed to Be Her First Album – Rolling Stone

The legendary Barbra Streisand The 1962 Greenwich Village nightclub show, Bon Soir, will be released as a new live album, Live in Bon Soir, Nov. 4 via Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings. To generate excitement for the release, Streisand shared a powerful performance of Arthur Hamilton-penned song, “Cry Me a River.”

Live in Bon Soir Recorded over three nights, November 4 to November 6, 1962: Streisand was only 20 years old, and she signed her first record deal with Columbia just a month earlier. The recordings were originally supposed to become Streisand’s debut album, but the tapes were eventually put on hold in favor of a 1963 studio effort, Barbra Streisand ألبوم albumwhich won several Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year.

Live in Bon Soir It arrives fittingly on the 60th anniversary of those shows. The album was pulled from the original master tapes—which had been in the Streisand archives for six decades—and Streisand produced the record along with Martin Erlichman and Jay Landers. However, preparing the album for release required some significant audio engineering: Unsurprisingly, Bon Soir wasn’t prepared for recording, and engineer Jochem van der Saag notes, “there was a lot of leakage from the instruments into her vocal mic.”

He continued, “If we wanted to lower the piano volume for example, the volume would go down too. To give listeners the ‘best seat in the house’, we used the latest spectral editing technology, to illustrate the true art of Barbara and her band.”

Streisand also penned her own notes for the album. In one clip, she recalls her trip to the Bon Soir theater: “I’ve never been to a nightclub until I sang in one. I sang two songs in a talent competition at a small club called The Lion and won, which led to me being assigned to a more sophisticated dinner club around the corner called The Lion.” Bon Soir, with real theater and spotlight.The uproar that began at Bon Soir led to a contract with Columbia Records in 1962, the beginning of a long association that continues to this day.The initial plan for my first album was to record it at a club, and these early tapes were Sleeping in a basement for six decades. I am glad to finally bring them to the light and share what would have been my first album, Live At The Bon Soir. Live in Bon Soir. “

Live in Bon Soir It will arrive digitally and on CD first, but a special vinyl edition is available for Pre-order It will ship in the spring of 2023.

Live in Bon Soir a path

1. Foreword by David Kapralik (Columbia Records) / My Name Is Barbra (Leonard Bernstein)
2. Much More (Tom Jones / Harvey Schmidt)
3. Napoleon (Harold Arlen / EY Harburg)
4. I Hate Music (Leonard Bernstein)
5. Right As The Rain (Harold Arlen / EY Harburg)
6. Cry Me A River (Arthur Hamilton)
7. The Value (Jeff Harris)
8. Habib, come back to me (Oscar Hammerstein II / Sigmund Romberg)
9. Band Introductions
10. Soon it will rain (Harvey Schmidt / Tom Jones)
11. Come to the supermarket (in old Beijing) (Cole Porter
12. When the sun rises (Harold Arlen / Ted Koehler)
13. Here Are The Happy Days Again (Jack Yellen / Milton Ager)
14. Keepin’ Out Of Mischief Now (Andy Razaf / Thomas “Fat” Waller)
15. Sleeping Bee (Harold Arlin / Truman Capote)
16. I Had True Love (Harold Arlin / Johnny Mercer)
17. Bewitched, Annoyed and Confused (Richard Rodgers / Lorenz Hart)
18. Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf? (Frank Churchill / Anne Runell)
19. I’ll tell the man in the street (Richard Rodgers / Lorenz Hart)
20. A Taste Of Honey (Bobby Scott / Rick Marlowe)
21. I’ll Never Get Married (Frank Loser)
22. Nobody’s Heart Belongs to Me (Richard Rodgers / Lorenz Hart)
23. My Beloved Arms (Hermann Ruby/Joseph Meyer)
24. Long Stayed at the Show (Billy Barnes)

(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)

Related posts

Leave a Comment